Falling

“No, I can’t do it! I—I won’t do it! I can’t … not again …”

They stood together in the early predawn, the silhouette of a boy and a girl simply standing and staring, surrounded by a still sky and a sleeping world.

“Why not? Freedom is waiting for us out there, a whole new future we can make our own!” He reached out for her hand but she quickly flinched away, a choked sob leaving her lips.

“Then go! Go without me! Do what you want, but I—”

“I can’t! I won’t leave you behind. Without you … Without you, I am nothing!” Even in the fading darkness, she could see the anguish on his face. He couldn’t take it anymore.

She didn’t think she could either.

“I can’t leave them! I can’t leave them too, not again, not after what’s happened…”

He frowned, peering at her almost curiously as if she was a thing to be examined.

“That’s not it … is it?”

It was silent as she refused to answer, the only sound the soft rustling of fabric against skin as the cool morning air swirled around them.

“Please tell me … “

Tears filled her eyes, liquid gold in the light of the rising dawn. “I … I’m …”

She glared at the ground as if frustrated with herself, crystalline teardrops falling to mix with morning dew. She felt as if she was falling, spiraling down deeper and deeper into the darkness that was waiting to swallow her up.

“I’m scared.” Falling falling falling, hurled over the precipice.

In that moment, she looked smaller than he had ever seen her, back hunched and shoulders shaking with silent sobs. He didn’t think he had ever felt his heart jump as it did then, looking at her as she was.

“But what is there to be afraid of?”

“… What if I fall?”

With a soft chuckle, he took her delicate hands in his own calloused ones. She gasped softly, too startled and tired to move away. Looking up, she watched his soft smile turn to gold as the sun peeked above the horizon. He gazed at her as if she was the center of the universe and nothing else mattered.

“Oh but my darling, what if you fly?”


This piece is based off a quote by Erin Hanson that goes

“There is freedom waiting for you,
On the breezes of the sky,
And you ask ‘What if I fall?’
Oh but my darling,
What if you fly?”

Image of the sunrise is from this website here. Also, shout out and thanks to my friend, who we shall call McRamen for now, that helped me edit this.

Edit: While this was posted on my blog a few months ago, I have edited it a bit and then reposted it, deleting the original.

Precipice

Leave a Reply

